University of Colorado at Boulder

Events - 2010


January


Fri Jan 22, 03:30 pm. Gugg 205

Colloquia: Waleed Abdalati

Ice Sheets, Sea Ice and Satellites: Transforming Polar Paradigms

Fri Jan 29, 03:30 pm. Gugg 205

Colloquia: Ken Foote

Memorialization of US College and University Tragedies: Spaces of Mourning and Remembrance

February


Fri Feb 05, 03:30 pm. Gugg 205

Colloquia: No Colloquium

No Colloquium

Fri Feb 12, 03:30 pm. Gugg 205

Colloquia: Adam Henne

Technologies of Value: Chilean Forests and the Political Ecology of Being Green

Fri Feb 19, 03:30 pm. Gugg 205

Colloquia: Shen Xiaoli

The Role of Tibetan Traditional Cultures in Conservation in Southwest China

Fri Feb 26, 03:30 pm. Paleontology Hall, CU Museum of Natural History

Colloquia: Elizabeth Dunn and Hannah Mintek

Now We Have Nothing: People Displaced From South Ossetia

Fri Feb 26, 04:30 pm. CU Museum of Natural History

Elizabeth Dunn and Hannah Mintek

Photo Exhibit: Now We Have Nothing: People Displaced From South Ossetia

March


Fri Mar 05, 03:30 pm. Gugg 205

Colloquia: Jia Hu

Linking water, carbon, and nutrients dynamics in two contrasting ecosystems: a subalpine forest and a grassland on the Tibetan Plateau

Fri Mar 12, 03:30 pm. Gugg 205

Colloquia: Adina Racoviteanu

Himalayan glaciers and 'voodoo science': Integrating remote sensing, field methods and indigenous knowledge about climate change

Fri Mar 19, 03:29 pm. Gugg 205

Colloquia: NO COLLOQUIUM

NO COLLOQUIUM

Fri Mar 26, 03:30 pm. Gugg 205

Colloquia: NO COLLOQUIUM - Spring Break

NO COLLOQUIUM - Spring Break

April


Fri Apr 02, 03:30 pm. Gugg 205

Colloquia: Jason Sibold

TBD

Fri Apr 09, 03:30 pm. Gugg 205

Colloquia: Grad Student Presentations

Grad Student Presentations

Fri Apr 16, 03:30 pm. Gugg 205

Colloquia: NO COLLOQUIUM - AAG Conference

NO COLLOQUIUM - AAG Conference

Fri Apr 23, 03:30 pm. Gugg 205

Colloquia: Richard Armstrong

Contribution of melting glaciers to the hydrology of Nepal

Fri Apr 30, 03:30 pm. Gugg 205

Colloquia: Steven Fassnacht

Small Scale Snowpack Surface Roughness Variability Measurements

September


Fri Sep 03, 03:30 pm. Gugg 205

Colloquia: Katie Lage

Research Tools for Geographers

Fri Sep 10, 03:30 pm. Gugg 205

Colloquia: John O’Loughlin, Frank Witmer, Andrew Linke, Nancy Thorwardson

Peering into the Fog of War: The Geography of the WikiLeaks Afghanistan War Logs 2004-2009

Fri Sep 17, 03:30 pm. GUGG 205

Colloquia: Jerome Gaillardet

Chemical potamology: Balancing the dissolved and solid river flux

Thu Sep 23, 03:30 pm. GUGG 201E

Faculty Meeting

Faculty Meeting

Fri Sep 24, 03:30 pm. GUGG 205

Colloquia: Teri Allendorf

Community conservation in Myanmar (Burma): a decade of experiences

October


Tue Oct 05, 04:00 pm. Norlin Library, British Studies, 5th Floor

Center for the Humanities and Arts Lecture Series features Timothy S. Oakes

'Nothing is Pure' - Rethinking China from the Edges

Wed Oct 06, 06:00 pm. GUGG 206

Getting Into Grad School and What to Expect When You Get There

Info session for undergraduates.

Fri Oct 08, 03:30 pm. GUGG 205

Colloquia: Roger Pulwarty

From research to service: Informing adaptation in a changing climate

Thu Oct 14, 03:30 pm. GUGG 201E

Faculty Meeting

Faculty Meeting

Fri Oct 22, 03:30 pm. GUGG 205

Colloquia: Jose Mariman

Blind, deaf and oblivious: The drama of ethno-national conflict in Chile

Mon Oct 25, 06:00 pm. CU-Denver campus, MBA Suite

CU-Denver College of Architecture and Planning Lecture Series - joni m. palmer

Fieldbooks as Sites of Change

November


Fri Nov 05, 03:30 pm. GUGG 205

Colloquia: Christina Tague

Spatial-complexity in scenarios of eco-hydrologic responses to warming in the Western US

Thu Nov 11, 03:30 pm. GUGG 201E

Faculty Meeting

Faculty Meeting

Fri Nov 12, 03:30 pm. GUGG 205

Colloquia: Diego Riveros-Iregui

A Hydrologic Perspective on Land-Atmosphere Interactions: Moving from Point Observations to Watershed Fluxes

December


Fri Dec 03, 03:30 pm. GUGG 205

Colloquia: Bruce Van Haveren

Sedge Meadows of the Wyoming Basin Shrub-Steppe—Are they Wetlands?

Thu Dec 09, 03:30 pm. GUGG 201E

Faculty Meeting

Faculty Meeting

Fri Dec 17, 11:00 am. Guggenheim Building

Fall Commencement

Fall Commencement - Geography Ceremony