University of Colorado at Boulder

Events - 2011


January


Fri Jan 21, 03:30 pm. GUGG 205

Colloquia: Jon Spinney

Mobile Location Services: History, Technology, Ecosystems, and GIScience

Thu Jan 27, 03:30 pm. GUGG 201E

Faculty Meeting

Faculty Meeting

Fri Jan 28, 03:30 pm. GUGG 205

Colloquia: Mac Chapin

Mapping Indigenous Lands: A Participatory Approach

February


Wed Feb 02, 03:00 pm. Macky 202

Center for Humanities and the Arts “Work-in-Progress” Presented by Emily Yeh

Development as gift: Comfortable housing and the new socialist countryside in Tibet

Fri Feb 04, 03:30 pm. GUGG 205

Colloquia: Tyler Roberts

Are IPAT relationships empirically stable? Re-examining population, affluence, and technology as drivers of carbon emissions through the lens of economic demography

Fri Feb 11, 03:30 pm. GUGG 205

Colloquia: John Lindenbaum

Contemporary Christian Music and the Politics of Apolitics

Fri Feb 18, 03:30 pm. GUGG 205

Colloquia: Jochen Wendel

What are Self-Organizing Maps? And why do they matter?

Wed Feb 23, 04:00 pm. Macky 202

Center for Humanities and the Arts “Work-in-Progress” Presented by Amy Zader

Governing Bodies, Governing Grain: The Biopolitics of Chinese Food Security

Thu Feb 24, 03:30 pm. GUGG 201E

Faculty Meeting

Faculty Meeting

Fri Feb 25, 03:00 pm. Hale 230

Department of Anthropology Public Lecture by Dr. Cynthia Beall

Tibetan Adaptations to High Altitude

March


Wed Mar 02, 04:00 pm. Macky 202

Center for Humanities and the Arts “Work in Progress” Presented by Adam Williams

Informal Recycling: a Cultural Geography of Waste in Shanghai, China

Wed Mar 02, 05:30 pm. UMC Ballroom

Redefining Sustainability

Redefining Sustainability: Conversations with CU Graduate Students

Fri Mar 04, 09:00 am. Anthropology Reading Room, 4th floor, Hale Science Building

Humanitarianism and Migration Conference

Humanitarianism and Migration: An Interdisciplinary Conference

Thu Mar 10, 04:00 pm. Eaton Humanities 150

Why The Revolution Will Not Be Tweeted

A talk with Chet Tchozewski Founder and President Emeritus, Global Greengrants Fund

Fri Mar 11, 03:30 pm. GUGG 205

Colloquia: Gregory Simon

Beyond Leave No Trace: A critical review of commerce, consumption and conservation in outdoor recreation

Thu Mar 17, 03:30 pm. GUGG 201E

Faculty Meeting

Faculty Meeting

Fri Mar 18, 03:30 pm. GUGG 205

Colloquia: Graduate Student Presentations

Graduate Student Presentations

April


Fri Apr 01, 03:30 pm. GUGG 205

Colloquia: Elizabeth Olson

Geographies of religion and class: young people in deprived Britain

Wed Apr 06, 01:00 pm. ECON 13

Guest Lecture by George Perry

Stopping the Clock? The Role of Fire in New Zealand's Forest Landscapes

Thu Apr 07, 02:00 pm. Wolf Law 205

Jasbir Puar

Israeli Pinkwashing, Left Ambivalence, & Queer Critique

Thu Apr 07, 06:00 pm. Hellems 201

GTU Documentary Fest

Harlem's Mart 125: The American Dream

Thu Apr 21, 03:30 pm. GUGG 201E

Faculty Meeting

Faculty Meeting

Thu Apr 21, 06:30 pm. MUEN E0046

Gasland Documentary Viewing

Documentary featuring Colorado's Natural Gas Fields

Fri Apr 22, 03:30 pm. GUGG 205

Colloquia: Emily Skop

Austin: A City of Tolerance, Ideas and Immigrants?

Fri Apr 29, 04:00 pm. Martin Park picnic shelter

Annual Guggenheim Spring Picnic

Annual Geography Department Spring Picnic at Martin Park, Friday April 29th at 4:00 PM

May


Thu May 05, 03:30 pm. GUGG 201E

Faculty Meeting

Faculty Meeting

Fri May 06, 11:00 am. Norlin Quad, in front of GUGG (HALE270 in inclement weather)

Spring 2011 Commencement

Spring Commencement - Geography Ceremony; immediately following University Event

June


Sun Jun 12, 07:00 pm. Norlin Library

Geography Faculty Development Alliance

Workshops and Seminars for Early Career College and University Faculty

August


Thu Aug 25, 03:30 pm. GUGG 201E

Faculty Meeting

Faculty Meeting

September


Fri Sep 02, 03:30 pm. IBS Building, room 155

Colloquia: The first lecture in the “Global Climate Change: A Geographic Perspective” series

The Climate Change-Conflict Controversy: The Evidence from East Africa, 1990-2009

Thu Sep 08, 04:00 pm. North Boulder Park

Fall Picnic

Thursday, September 8, 2011, from 5 - 9 pm at North Boulder Park (9th and Dellwood)

Fri Sep 09, 03:30 pm. GUGG 205

Colloquia: Colloquium Series

The Anthropology of Cartography

Thu Sep 15, 06:00 pm. BioLounge, CU Museum of Natural History Museum

Fire in the Mountains: Understanding Fire History and Fire Dynamics in Colorado

CU Museum of Natural History exhibit Burning Issues: The Fourmile Canyon Fire

Fri Sep 16, 03:30 pm. IBS Building, room 155

Colloquia: “Global Climate Change: A Geographic Perspective” lecture series

Environmental Geopolitics in the Twenty First Century

Tue Sep 20, 07:00 pm. ATLS 100

With My Own Two Wheels

Film Screening of "With My Own Two Wheels"

Thu Sep 22, 10:00 am. Old Main Chapel

Center for Asian Studies Speaker Series Event: “Sporting Friendship in Sino-American Relations.”

Lecture: "Hitting a Home Run across the Pacific: Major League Baseball in East Asia," and Panel Discussion: "Strategy and Security: Sports in Sino-American Relations"

Thu Sep 22, 03:30 pm. GUGG 201E

Faculty Meeting

Faculty Meeting

Fri Sep 23, 03:30 pm. IBS Building, room 155

Colloquia: “Global Climate Change: A Geographic Perspective” lecture series

Research on Global Environmental Change: Time for Change

Thu Sep 29, 12:00 pm. CAS Office, 1424 Broadway

CAS Brown Bag Event

"From the Havens to the Markets: State, Development and the Mediation of Nature in Northwest China."

Fri Sep 30, 03:30 pm. IBS Building, room 155

Colloquia: “Global Climate Change: A Geographic Perspective” lecture series

The Nation Ex-Situ: On Climate Change, Deterritorialized Nationhood, and the Post-Climate Era

October


Wed Oct 05, 03:00 pm. GUGG 201E

Writing Workshop

Writing Workshop with Audrey Kobayashi

Fri Oct 07, 03:30 pm. IBS Building, room 155

Colloquia: “Global Climate Change: A Geographic Perspective” lecture series

Interrogating the Tradeoffs: Carbon Commodification and Community Forest Governance in Chiapas, Mexico

Fri Oct 14, 03:30 pm. IBS Building, room 155

Colloquia: “Global Climate Change: A Geographic Perspective” lecture series

Ozone Depletion and Antarctic Climate Change

Thu Oct 20, 03:30 pm. GUGG 201E

Faculty Meeting

Faculty Meeting

Fri Oct 28, 03:30 pm. GUGG 205

Colloquia: Colloquium Series

Our Bodies Are Our Own: Resistance to ABC-Based HIV/AIDS Interventions in Northern Tanzania Conservation Settings

November


Thu Nov 03, 03:00 pm. GUGG 201E

Faculty Meeting

Faculty Meeting

Fri Nov 04, 03:30 pm. IBS Building, room 155

Colloquia: “Global Climate Change: A Geographic Perspective” lecture series

Pages from the Book of the Unknown Explorer

Thu Nov 10, 03:00 pm. GUGG 201E

Faculty Meeting

Faculty Meeting

Thu Nov 17, 03:00 pm. GUGG 201E

Faculty Meeting

Faculty Meeting

Fri Nov 18, 03:30 pm. GUGG 205

Colloquia: Colloquium Series

From the Heavens to the Markets: State-Backed Development and the Remaking of Water in Western China

December


Thu Dec 01, 03:30 pm. GUGG 201E

Faculty Meeting

Faculty Meeting

Fri Dec 02, 03:30 pm. IBS Building, room 155

Colloquia: “Global Climate Change: A Geographic Perspective” lecture series

What does it mean to 'adapt'? Gender, climate change, post-conflict transition and forestry governance in Nepal

Fri Dec 16, 11:00 am. Guggenheim Building

Fall 2011 Commencement

Geography Commencement Ceremony immediately following University Event