University of Colorado at Boulder

Events - 2014


February


Thu Feb 06, 03:30 pm. GUGG 201e

Faculty Meeting

GEOG Faculty Meeting

Fri Feb 07, 04:00 pm. HALE 230

Colloquia Series

No Colloquium this week

Thu Feb 13, 03:30 pm. GUGG 201e

Faculty Meeting

GEOG Faculty Meeting

Fri Feb 14, 03:29 pm. GUGG 205

Colloquia: Colloquia Series

At the margins: Agriculture and the shifting fate of North America’s Native Grassland

Fri Feb 21, 08:00 am. TBD

Critical Geography Conference

20th Annual Critical Geography Conference

Fri Feb 21, 04:00 pm. ATLS 100

Colloquia: Opening Keynote for 20th Annual Critical Geography Conference

Muddying the Waters: Co-Authoring Feminisms across Scholarship and Activism

Sat Feb 22, 08:00 am. TBD

Critical Geography Conference

20th Annual Critical Geography Conference

Sun Feb 23, 08:00 am. TBD

Critical Geography Conference

20th Annual Critical Geography Conference

Sun Feb 23, 01:00 pm. ATLS 100

Colloquia: Closing Keynote for 20th Annual Critical Geography Conference

Zapatismo: Decolonizing Geographies Circa The End of the World

Tue Feb 25, 07:30 pm. Boulder Book Store

Book Launch: Building Peace From Within

Boulder Book Store launch of "Building Peace From Within"

Thu Feb 27, 03:30 pm. GUGG 201e

Faculty Meeting

GEOG Faculty Meeting

Fri Feb 28, 03:30 pm. GUGG 205

Colloquia: Colloquia Series

Excess and Access: Unraveling the margins of informal recycling in Shanghai

March


Wed Mar 12, 06:00 pm. GUGG 205

Career Night for Undergraduates

Geography Career Night

Fri Mar 14, 03:30 pm. GUGG 205

Colloquia: Colloquia Series

Data that Matter: Opportunities in Crisis Informatics Research

Fri Mar 21, 03:29 pm. GUGG 205

Colloquia: Colloquia Series

Sidetracks

April


Fri Apr 04, 03:30 pm. GUGG 205

Colloquia: Colloquia Series

Finding the Plot: The Land (and other) Grabs along Nicaragua’s Pacific Coast

Thu Apr 17, 03:30 pm. GUGG 201e

Faculty Meeting

GEOG Faculty Meeting

Thu Apr 24, 07:30 pm. Muenzinger E-50

Filmmaker Lucien Castaing-Taylor Visits CU Boulder

A special screening of Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Véréna Paravel’s 2012 film Leviathan

Fri Apr 25, 12:00 pm. ATLAS 102

Filmmaker Lucien Castaing-Taylor Visits CU Boulder

Faculty and students are welcome to join Lucien Castaing-Taylor for an opportunity to visit, and discuss his films

Fri Apr 25, 03:30 pm. GUGG 205

Colloquia: Colloquia Series

Killing life to make life: the biopolitics of soil fumigant regulation in California's strawberry industry

May


Thu May 01, 03:00 pm. GUGG 201e

Faculty Meeting

GEOG Faculty Meeting

Tue May 06, 05:30 pm. North Boulder Park

Spring Picnic

Spring 2014 Picnic

Fri May 09, 11:00 am. Glenn Miller Ballroom

Spring 2014 Geography Commencement

Geography Commencement Ceremony and Reception

September


Thu Sep 04, 03:30 pm. GUGG 201e

Faculty Meeting

GEOG Faculty Meeting

Fri Sep 05, 06:00 pm. Eben G. Fine Park

Fall Picnic

Fall 2014 Picnic - Geography grad students, faculty and staff

Fri Sep 12, 03:29 pm. GUGG 205

Colloquia: Colloquia Series

Choking on Progress: Road Dust and Shifting Boundaries of Belonging in Mongolia's Mining Boom

Sat Sep 13, 12:30 pm. The Newman Center for Performing Arts

Waleed Abdalati to give talk at TEDxMileHigh

TEDxMileHigh Convergence Talk

Fri Sep 19, 03:30 pm. GUGG 205

Colloquia: Colloquia Series

Ukraine: What is the fighting all about?

Fri Sep 26, 03:30 pm. GUGG 205

Colloquia: Colloquia Series

Gravity Never Sleeps: Recent Landslides in Colorado and Washington State

October


Thu Oct 02, 03:30 pm. GUGG 201e

Faculty Meeting

GEOG Faculty Meeting

Fri Oct 03, 03:30 pm. GUGG 205

Colloquia: Colloquia Series

Bhutan and Nepal: Disappearing Himalayan Glaciers, Water Security in High Asia, Temples, Elephants, and Phalluses

Fri Oct 10, 03:29 pm. GUGG 205

Colloquia: Colloquia Series

Transnational Credibility: Iranian architects in the new geography of design recognition

Fri Oct 17, 03:30 pm. GUGG 205

Colloquia: Colloquia Series

Genealogies of Risk: The Problem of Knowledge in U.S. Health, Safety, and Environmental Law

Thu Oct 23, 05:00 pm. GUGG 205

Getting Into Grad School:  An Event for Undergrads

Getting Into Grad School and What to Expect When You Get There

Fri Oct 24, 03:30 pm. GUGG 205

Colloquia: Colloquia Series

Taming Tibet: Landscape Transformation and the Gift of Chinese Development

Thu Oct 30, 03:30 pm. GUGG 201e

Faculty Meeting

GEOG Faculty Meeting

Fri Oct 31, 03:30 pm. IBS 155

Colloquia: Colloquia Series

Climate change, violence and institutions in Kenya: Evidence from a 2014 national survey

November


Fri Nov 07, 03:30 pm. GUGG 205

Colloquia: Colloquia Series

Postmodern images of Mayan (im)migration: dreamworld & catastrophe in the land of milpa ‘n’ honey

Fri Nov 14, 03:30 pm. GUGG 205

Colloquia: Colloquia Series

DIY Environmental Justice: Institutionalized EJ in the Neoliberal Era

December


Thu Dec 04, 03:30 pm. GUGG 201e

Faculty Meeting

GEOG Faculty Meeting

Thu Dec 11, 03:30 pm. GUGG 201e

Faculty Meeting

GEOG Faculty Meeting

Fri Dec 19, 11:00 am. Guggenheim Building

Fall 2014 Commencement

Geography Commencement Ceremony & Reception